December 3, 2021


Panama (Security threat level – 3): As of 2359 local time on 2 December 2021 (0459 UTC on 3 December), a temporary travel ban is in effect for foreign nationals who have visited Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa or Zimbabwe within two weeks before traveling to Panama, due to concerns regarding the transmission of the omicron variant of COVID-19. Vaccinated Panamanian citizens and permanent residents arriving in Panama from those countries must present a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours prior to arrival and take an additional test 72 hours after arrival. Meanwhile, those who are unvaccinated must also undergo a “preventative quarantine” for 72 hours and may end quarantine only after receiving a negative test result following the 72-hour quarantine.


India (Security threat level – 3): As of 1430 local time (0900 UTC) on 3 December 2021, Tropical Cyclone Jawad was located approximately 360 km (225 mi) south-southeast of the city of Vishakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, and about 530 km south-southwest of Puri, Odisha, according to the Indian Meteorological Department. At that point, Jawad was moving in a north-northwest direction at a speed of 22 kph (13 mph) and had maximum sustained winds of 60-70 kph, with gusts of up to 80 kph. The tropical cyclone is currently expected to reach the coastal area near the Andhra Pradesh-Odisha border by the morning of 4 December and come ashore in Odisha’s Puri district the following day. Heavy rainfall is in the forecast for areas in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and West Bengal. In anticipation of cyclone-related disruptions, authorities have canceled train services and ordered the closure of schools in the region until 5 December. In addition, emergency personnel and rescue crews have been deployed to carry out relief operations.

Nepal (Security threat level – 3): On 2 December 2021, authorities announced a travel ban on foreign nationals coming from Hong Kong or any one of eight African countries — Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe — due to the emerging omicron variant of COVID-19. The ban, which went into effect at 0000 local time on 3 December (1815 UTC on 2 December), applies to passengers who have visited or transited through those locations within three weeks before travel to Nepal; international travelers already in transit to Nepal must complete a seven-day quarantine after arrival at a quarantine facility at their own expense. Authorities have encouraged Nepali nationals to refrain from nonessential international travel due to the omicron variant.

Singapore (Security threat level – 1): On 3 December 2021, officials with the Ministry of Health announced that travelers entering the country via Singapore’s Vaccinated Travel Lanes will be required to conduct daily self-administered rapid antigen tests for seven days after arrival — effective as of 7 December. On days three and seven, travelers must conduct the tests under supervision at a Combined Test Center (CTC) or Quick Test Center (QTC). On other days, travelers may conduct the tests without supervision, provided they submit the test results electronically using a weblink sent by the Ministry of Health after arrival. The new testing rules will be in place for at least the next four weeks. Additionally, travelers who have visited Ghana, Malawi or Nigeria in the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter Singapore beginning on 5 December.