Close this search box.
Close this search box.
July 13, 2021


Dominican Republic (Security threat level – 3): On 12 July 2021, authorities in the Dominican Republic announced modifications to the countrywide coronavirus-related nightly curfew, which is currently in place from 2200 to 0500 local time (0200 to 0900 UTC) Monday through Friday and from 1900 to 0500 local time on Saturday and Sunday. Beginning on 14 July, the curfew will be enforced from 2300 to 0500 local time Monday through Friday and from 2100 to 0500 local time on Saturday and Sunday. Authorities permit a travel grace period during the first two hours of curfew.

Peru (Security threat level – 3): On 12 July 2021, the Peruvian government extended existing restrictions imposed to curb the spread of COVID-19 until 8 August. All incoming travelers are required to obtain a negative result from a COVID-19 PCR or rapid antigen test taken no more than 72 hours before departing for Peru. Additionally, all non-Peruvian citizens and permanent residents who have traveled from or transited through India, Brazil or South Africa within the last 14 days are banned from entering Peru.

Under Peru’s tier-based restrictions, the country is divided into very high, high and moderate tiers. Under the very high tier — which includes the Arequipa, Moquegua, and Tacna regions — a nightly curfew is in effect from 2200 to 0400 local time (0300-0900 UTC) and the circulation of personal vehicles is prohibited on Sundays. Under the high tier — which includes the capital Lima, Amazonas, Ancash, Apurímac, Ayacucho, Cajamarca, Callao, Cusco, Huancavelica, Ica, Junín, La Libertad, Pasco, Puno, San Martín, and Tumbes regions — a nightly curfew is in effect from 0000 to 0400 local time. Meanwhile, under the moderate tier — which includes the Huánuco, Lambayeque, Loreto, Madre de Dios, Piura, and Ucayali regions — a nightly curfew is in effect from 0000 to 0400 local time.


Spain (Security threat level – 3): On 12 July 2021, regional authorities began re-imposing curfews as well as restrictions on social gatherings after the country registered a sharp rise in COVID-19 infections. In Aragon, the regional superior court approved the regional government’s coronavirus-related restriction on hotels and restaurants. The local order requires hotels and restaurants to close at 2300 local time (2100 UTC) nightly and limits all nighttime venues to 50% of maximum occupancy with a requirement to cease operations nightly at 0030 local time. In the northern region of Asturias, officials banned indoor operations at bars and restaurants until further notice. In Catalonia, authorities now require the nightly closure of bars, restaurants and cultural venues at 0030 local time and have banned eating and drinking in public streets until further notice. Officials are awaiting approval by the regional court of Catalonia. Health officials contend that the increase in the country’s COVID-19 case rate is fueled by parties being held by unvaccinated youths to mark the end of the school year and the beginning of summer. Spain’s two-week COVID-19 caseload is now more than three times higher among people under 30 as compared to the overall average.


South Africa (Security threat level – 4): On 12 July 2021, President Cyril Ramaphosa deployed the South African National Defense Force to Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal provinces to quell unrest following several days of protests and looting sparked by the sentencing of former President Jacob Zuma to 15 months in prison for refusing to testify for an anti-corruption tribunal. In the Soweto district of Johannesburg, police officers fired rubber bullets at several dozen looters fleeing a mall as rioters set fire to other shops. Elsewhere in Johannesburg, rioters blocked major roads with burning tires. Looting has also been reported in the Benmore, Jeppestown and Vosloorus areas of Johannesburg. Reports indicate that at least 10 people have been killed and police officials have detained at least 490 people since the protests commenced.


Lesser Antilles (Security threat level – 1): On 13 July 2021, the U.K. Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) issued updated travel advice for St. Kitts and Nevis, which reads in part as follows: “Restrictions in St Kitts and Nevis have eased with the ending of total lockdown effective 12 July and normal economic life has resumed, subject to COVID-19 social protocols. Daily curfew remains in effect 9.00 pm to 5.00 am.”

Mexico (Security threat level – 4): On 12 July 2021, the U.S. Consulate General in Tijuana issued a Security Alert regarding cartel violence, which reads in part as follows: “The U.S. Consulate General Tijuana has updated its travel restrictions for U.S. government personnel.

“U.S. travelers should be aware of additional travel restrictions for U.S. government personnel in Mexicali Valley and take appropriate actions. The Baja California state portion of the Travel Advisory for Mexico has been updated to read:

“Mexicali Valley: U.S. government employees should avoid the Mexicali Valley until further notice due to the heightened possibility of violence between rival cartel factions. The boundaries of the restricted area are defined to the east, the Baja California/Arizona and Baja California/Sonora borders; to the south, from La Ventana (on Highway 5) due east to the Colorado River; to the west, Highway 5; and to the north, Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas/Highway 92/Highway 1 to Carretera Aeropuerto, from the intersection of Highway 1 and Carretera Aeropuerto due north to the Baja California/California border, and from that point eastward along the Baja California/California border.

“Employees may use Highways 2 and 2D to transit between Mexicali, Los Algodones, and San Luis Rio Colorado during daylight hours. They may also use Highways 1 and 8 to transit to and from the Mexicali Airport during daylight hours. Travel on Highway 5 is permissible during daylight hours.”