Close this search box.
Close this search box.
July 1, 2021


Malaysia (Security threat level – 3): On 1 July 2021, authorities announced that coronavirus-related restrictions will be expanded in areas of the capital Kuala Lumpur — including the districts of Wangsa Maju and Lembah Pantai — and in the districts of Ampang, Damansara, Gombak, Hulu Langat, Hulu Selangor, Klang, Kuala Langat, Kuala Selangor, Petaling and Sepang in Selangor state during 3-16 July. Under the order, roads in the lockdown areas will be closed and only one member of each household will be allowed to leave to purchase necessities within 10 km (6 mi) of their home. Employees working for essential businesses in the manufacturing, food production and medical industries are exempt from the measure.

Philippines (Security threat level – 4): On 1 July 2021, the Taal Volcano, located approximately 65 km (40 mi) south of the capital Manila, briefly erupted, prompting the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) to raise the volcano’s alert status to a Level 3 — the third-highest on a six-tier scale — from a Level 2. Authorities also began evacuating parts of the towns of Agoncillo and Laurel, which are located along the coast of Taal Lake. Phivolcs officials warned that additional eruptions are possible and that communities around Taal Lake should take precautions against falling ash and rocks. The eruption has not significantly affected the Metro Manila area or operations at Ninoy Aquino International Airport (RPLL/MNL).


Caribbean: On the morning of 1 July 2021, Tropical Storm Elsa formed in the Atlantic Ocean east of Lesser Antilles. As of 0800 local time (1200 UTC), Elsa was located approximately 1,255 km (780 mi) east-southeast of the Windward Islands and was moving in a westerly direction at a speed of 41 kph (25 mph), according to the U.S. National Hurricane Center. At that point, the storm had maximum sustained winds of 65 kph, with higher gusts. On its current forecast path, the storm will accelerate in a west-northwest direction during the next 24 to 36 hours and will pass near or over parts of the Windward Islands or the southern Leeward Islands on 2 July. Elsa is then anticipated to move into the eastern Caribbean Sea by the nighttime hours before moving near the southern coast of Hispaniola island on 3 July. Rainfall of between 75-150 mm (3-6 in), with isolated maximums of more than 200 mm, is in the forecast on 2 July across the Windward and southern Leeward Islands, including Barbados. The heavy rainfall could cause flash floods and landslides in the affected areas.

A Tropical Storm Warning is currently in effect for the islands of Barbados, Martinique, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Meanwhile, a Tropical Storm Watch is in effect for Guadeloupe and Grenada.


United Kingdom (Security threat level – 3): As of 0400 local time (0300 UTC) on 30 June 2021, the U.K. Department for Transport has altered the placement of countries on its traffic-light system for foreign travel, which determines coronavirus-related entry requirements for inbound travelers to England from the affected countries. Six countries were moved to the “red list,” a designation that requires travelers from those countries to quarantine at government-approved hotels for 10 days and to take two additional PCR tests — on days 2 and 8, respectively — during the quarantine period. The following countries were moved to the red list: Dominican Republic, Eritrea, Haiti, Mongolia, Tunisia and Uganda. At the same time, Malta was placed on the “green list,” a designation that requires inbound travelers from Malta to self-quarantine for 10 days; the two additional PCR tests will also be required, although travelers who take a PCR test on day 5 will be permitted to leave quarantine if the test yields negative results. The Spanish islands of Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca and Menorca, along with the U.K. overseas territories of Bermuda and the Cayman Islands, as well as the Caribbean islands of Antigua, Barbuda, Dominica, Barbados and Grenada, were placed on the “green watchlist,” a designation that requires travelers from those countries to follow the same protocols as those from the locations on the green list. However, the locations on the green watchlist remain at risk to be placed on the “amber list,” should coronavirus-related epidemiological conditions in those locations deteriorate.

A full list of the countries, along with their groupings within the three categories, and corresponding restrictions for entering England, can be viewed here.


Zimbabwe (Security threat level – 4): On 29 June 2021, President Emmerson Mnangagwa announced the reinstatement of a modified form of Level 4 lockdown measures for the next two weeks in response to a recent increase in COVID-19 cases. Effective immediately, a nationwide nightly curfew is in effect from 1830-0600 local time (1630-0400 UTC) and intercity travel is prohibited. Businesses and shops are allowed to open from 0800-1530 local time at 40% capacity. Visitors arriving from countries where the alpha and delta coronavirus variants have been detected will be required to isolate and undergo a PCR test on the first, third, fifth and tenth days of quarantine at their own expense. At present, travelers from India and the U.K. are subject to the quarantine and additional testing requirements. Authorities are hoping a new vaccination campaign accompanied by rigid restrictions will help to slow the transmission of the virus. The seven-day average of daily new infections in Zimbabwe has notably escalated to 727 cases, a fivefold increase over the past two weeks.


Burkina Faso (Security threat level – 4): On 30 June 2021, the U.S. Embassy in Ouagadougou issued a Demonstration Alert, which reads in part as follows: “Demonstrations are expected to take place on July 3 and 4, 2021, starting at Place de la Revolution [located in central Ouagadougou] at approximately 8:00 am on both Saturday and Sunday. No end time has been set for the demonstrations, which may expand into other areas of the city. Counter-protests may also spontaneously develop at other locations in Ouagadougou.”

Analyst Comment: The demonstrations are being organized by opposition groups to denounce the government’s inability to handle the spread of Islamist insurgency across the eastern and northern areas of Burkina Faso. Leading opposition politicians have also demanded the resignation of President Roch Kabore, who reshuffled his Cabinet on 30 June and took over the Defense Ministry.

Turkey (Security threat level – 4): On 30 June 2021, the U.S. Embassy in Ankara issued a Health Alert, which reads in part as follows:

“Restrictions Lifted: On Sunday, June 27, 2021, the Government of Turkey (GoT) announced that all restrictions will be lifted, effective July 1, 2021 at 5 a.m. Groceries, restaurants, and other establishments will be fully open. Mask requirements remain in effect. Please refer to the Ministry of Interior (MOI) circular for more information.

“Updated Flight Restrictions: On Monday, June 28, 2021, the GoT announced the suspension of all flights from Bangladesh, Brazil, South Africa, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka until further notice, effective July 1 at 5 a.m. Passengers who have been in these countries within 14 days of their arrival to Turkey will be subject to quarantine measures. In addition, passengers arriving from Afghanistan and Pakistan, or who have been in these countries within 14 days of their arrival, will be subject to quarantine measures. Please refer to the MOI circular and check with your airline(s) for more information.”