Close this search box.
Close this search box.
July 30, 2021


Guatemala (Security threat level – 4): On 29 July 2021, widespread anti-government protests disrupted traffic in several locations across Guatemala. In the capital Guatemala City, demonstrators blockaded a stretch of Martí street near the National Palace of Culture. In addition, the Inter-American Highway was blocked in several areas, including in the town of Sumpango in Sacatepéquez department as well as in the towns of Santa Cruz del Quiché, Cunén, Ixcán and Nebaj in El Quiché department. Various student unions and civil society organizations staged the demonstrations to demand the resignation of President Alejandro Giammattei and the attorney general. While there are no planned upcoming demonstrations, sporadic, disruptive protests remain a possibility throughout Guatemala if government officials fail to acknowledge protesters’ concerns.

Lesser Antilles (Security threat level – 1): On 29 July 2021, authorities in Martinique announced that an island-wide lockdown will be in effect from 30 July to at least 20 August due to a wave of COVID-19 cases. During the lockdown, a nightly 1900-0500 (2300-0500 UTC) curfew will be in effect, during which time individuals are required to remain within 10 km (6 mi) of their residence or possess an exceptional travel certificate authorizing travel of farther distances.


Japan (Security threat level – 1): On 30 July 2021, Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga declared a state of emergency for the districts of Saitama, Kanagawa and Chiba — located on the outskirts of Tokyo — and the city of Osaka through 31 August. The existing states of emergency for Tokyo and the southern island of Osaka have been extended until the end of August. Japan’s state of emergency restrictions have affected the hours of operation for restaurants and karaoke bars. Japan exceeded 10,000 confirmed daily coronavirus cases on 29 July for the first time since the pandemic began.

Philippines (Security threat level – 4): On 30 July 2021, authorities announced tighter coronavirus-related restrictions in the Manila capital region to slow the spread of locally transmitted coronavirus cases. During 30 July-5 August, a General Community Quarantine (GCQ) will be in effect, during which time restaurants will be allowed to offer takeout services only, religious gatherings will be banned, and only authorized individuals will be allowed to travel outside of metro Manila. During 6-20 August, an Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) will take effect and prevent residents from leaving their homes except for essential shopping and preapproved travel. Only establishments deemed essential – such as hospitals, food markets and banks — will be allowed to operate. Public transportation will be suspended to the general public. Authorities have also extended a ban on travelers from 10 countries — including India, Indonesia, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates — until 15 August.


Guinea-Bissau (Security threat level – 4): On 29 July 2021, the U.K. Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) issued updated travel advice for Guinea-Bissau, which reads in part as follows: “The government of Guinea-Bissau announced that the current state of alert will remain in place until 8 August.

“Under the state of alert, you must wear a mask or face covering in public, including on public transport. Non-adherence to mask wearing is subject to a fine of 5000XOF (around £7). Gatherings indoors are limited to 50% capacity, and social distancing of 1 metre must be respected.”